Lizzy, Brenden & the Magical Land of Faeries.

Lizzy&BrendenBlog

The day after Jonathan and I got back from our honeymoon, I took these engagement photos for my friends, Brenden and Lizzy. The end of 2011 and the beginning of 2012 were so hard for scheduling. I was planning my own wedding, working full time in insurance, and still wanted to do photography on the side… I didn’t want to let anyone down but still wanted to keep my sanity… hard line to maintain sometimes.

BUT I did it. Can I say that again? I did it! 🙂

I had been reading Jose Villa’s book, Fine Are Wedding Photography: How to Capture Images with Style for the Modern Bride, for a while and let me tell you, its amazing. Whether or not you want to be a wedding photographer this book gives you excellent insight on several big photo taking questions and how the business works. I loved it. Plus, the guy is a genius.

Anyway, since I had been reading this book, I was trying to pay attention to my light. Where it was going, where it was coming from and how I should be using it to get the image I wanted. These photos are very light and airy to me, which make them feel ethereal. I love them, to say the least.

Brenden and Lizzy are an outdoorsy couple. They hike, camp, and play with fire, so it only made sense we do something outside. We showcased their Vibrams in a beautiful covered bridge and headed to a magical waterfall through the woods. This place is actually an old mill turned into a public park where you can walk, run, or explore. I had never been there until these guys took me there and when I saw the background I instantly fell in love! It was perfect for them.

On the way back to the car, I noticed where the light was and how it was haloing their heads. I had to make them stop and do a few photos and they ended up being my favorites of the whole night.

Love you guys!

Leave a Reply

