LA, Hollywood, & Santa Monica – July 2013

 

 

Last 4th of July, I got to visit Los Angeles, for the first time with Jonathan’s family. Jonathan’s mom’s longtime friend let us stay with her in Redondo Beach, which was perfect; it was a 2 block walk from the beach, a drive to all the big touristy places, a walk from some of the best gelato/ prebiotic yogurts EVERRR and SHE was an amazing cook. Thank you for letting us stay with you!

You’ll be able to see, my favorite thing about LA was the food. Its sad, but its the truth.
I’ve been super bad about blogging – but here are some shots from the visit.

DSC_0004

DSC_0014

DSC_0017

DSC_0027

DSC_0041

DSC_0048

I think y’all all know this guy.

DSC_0051

At the Chinese Theatre! I was semi bummed, because they were doing construction on it and had a wall up. So no shots of the entire thing.

DSC_0061

DSC_0065

*Queue the  theme song*

DSC_0069

Live long, and prosper, y’all.

DSC_0074

Hand prints of Judy Garland. 🙂

DSC_0076

and my lady, Fräulein Maria.

DSC_0142

DSC_0132

We drove. A lot.

DSC_0111 (1)

I love this photo so much. I grew up an only child, and never had a sister. I’m so thankful I finally do, and its this chick!

DSC_0108

Lunch at this place called Cheebo. Oh, yum. Get the Chicken Salad Sandwich and eat all the chips covered in Cholula you can.

DSC_0093

DSC_0092

DSC_0143

Santa Monica. Beautiful.

DSC_0201

DSC_0200

Dinner at the Sonoma Wine Garden.
So, I love Southern food.
Let me just be clear on that. BUT, I don’t think I have ever gone somewhere and actually tasted the freshness in what I was eating like I did in LA. First of all, I never opt for the healthier looking food, but that fruit tray was amazing. I know, everyone uses the word, “amazing”, but really. It was.
Lets move on to that salad. Grilled peaches, arugula, crunchy proscuitto and the icing on the cake… burrata. If you have never had the pleasure of eating burrata, you need to find the closest place that you can, to try it. It is fabulous. Sad thing is, from what I’ve read, its a really complicated cheese and most people won’t bother to make it. Therefore, hard to find… I have DREAMS about this salad.

DSC_0194

DSC_0191

Going back to what I said before, the whole only child thing, yea, so not only did I get a sister, when I married Jonathan… I also got a brother. Dang, I did good.

DSC_0205

Walking Venice Beach.

DSC_0215

Shootin’ some b-ball outside of the school…

DSC_0213

If you need cheap, worthless sunglasses… you know where you can go.

DSC_0211

Ordering, probably the best, fish tacos I’ve ever had.

DSC_0223
Just shut your mouth. Right now.

DSC_0343

She’s going to be the coolest when she’s older. No question.

DSC_0331

So, I got obnoxiously excited when we found this dude with the plaid cut off shirt. I thought he was Blake from Workaholics… but it wasn’t. 😦

DSC_0321

DSC_0316

DSC_0250

DSC_0248

This little guy, is gonna be big.

DSC_0231

Just incase anyone is planning a trip to Redondo Beach, PLEASE, PLEASE, hit up 22 Degrees. The yogurt is freshly made, all natural, and inventive. I had some crazy flavors: lavender, rose, chocolate/ cayenne pepper & a “mystery” flavor which, I think they said was seaweed. Phenomenal!

Leave a Reply

